Sunday, May 4, 2008

Award Winners!

The Variety Hour is please to announce that there were three award winners on Wednesday Night.

The Alexander Andrews Appreciation Award for overall commitment to the Variety Hour. This year's winner was Jenna Steely for her overwhelming support for CMU Gurlzzz, Greek Sing's "Hazy Sunday," Star Wars Bagpipe, and Mr. Roger's Neighborhood. This award was started in 2007 at the first show.

The Jeremy Neuberg Most Valuable Player Award went to Jared Friedman for his production work with "Hazy Sunday," reconstructing and organizing a rap and sketch. He also answered the call when interviewers were needed at Carnegie Mellon's midway, knocked the improv OFF THE TOP!, and is looking to get more involved in the Variety Hour next year!!!

The Blake Coughenour Digital Submission Award is a new award this year encouraging outside parties to submit their digital shorts for the Variety Hour premiere. This year Mike Paletta, Tony Paletta, Sean Conboy, and Foster Crawford all came together to create "Crybaby." "Crybaby" is a silent black and white film that displays the angst of a young man who has just been left by his girlfriend, Ezra. We find Mr. Crawford tumulting down a sad and lonely spiral, only to discover that his means of destruction are less than adequate for his desires. Find this video on YouTube in the nearest of futures.

Congratulations everyone!

No comments: